Bachelor's and Master's Projects – University of Copenhagen

Forward this page to a friend Resize Print Bookmark and Share

Dark Cosmology Centre > Students - bachelor's, master's and PhD > Bachelor's and Master'...

Bachelor's and Master's Projects

Researchers at DARK supervise a range of bachelor's and master's projects. To find a project of interest, look through the following list of potential supervisors for their areas of interests, and for inspiration, the following list of example projects .

Students are welcome to stop by DARK anytime to talk to potential supervisors.

Anja C. Andersen
anja@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
The role of cosmic dust on the thermal, dynamical and chemical conditions in different astrophysical environments, astrophysics of dust, including dust formation, dust aggregates, optical properties of dust, galactic extinction curves and presolar grains from meteorites

Johan Peter Uldall Fynbo
jfynbo@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Gamma-ray bursts, high-z galaxies, dark ages, first stars, galaxy formation, gamma-ray bursts as probes of star formation, the nature of Lyman-α emitting galaxies in the early Universe, and coPI for the UltraVISTA project

Steen H. Hansen
hansen@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Dark matter particle properties, and characteristics of dark matter structures, understanding and measuring properties of equilibrated dark matter structures such as density and velocity anisotropy profiles, and understanding the origin of hot gas properties, such as temperature and density profiles

Jens Hjorth
jens@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Gamma-ray bursts, gravitational lensing, dark matter and dark energy in the Universe, high-redshift galaxies, cosmological parameters

Sune Toft:
sune@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
High-redshift galaxy evolution

 

Marianne Vestergaard
vester@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Supermassive black holes in active galactic nuclei and quasars, black hole mass determinations, black hole demographics and growth, quasar-host galaxy evolution, quasar central engine physics and structure, iron emission from active galaxies, radio-loudness of active galaxies

Darach Watson
darach@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Observations of gamma-ray bursts and high-redshift galaxies, x-ray observations of gamma-ray bursts, extinction curves of GRB host galaxies

Lise Christensen
lise@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Galaxy formation and star-formation at high redshifts, GRBs and their host galaxies, identifying DLA galaxies, galaxy abundances, QSO environments.

David Rapetti
drapetti@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Observational and theoretic cosmology: Dark energy, dark matter, modified gravity, inflation, neutrinos.
Cosmological probes: Galaxy cluster mass function, cluster gas-mass fraction, cosmic microwave background, baryon acoustic oscillations, clustering of galaxies and clusters.
Cluster astrophysics/observable-mass scaling relations.

Kristian Finlator

kfinlator@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:

Cosmological radiation hydrodynamic simulations.
The mass-metallicity relation of galaxies at all redshifts. The UV luminosity function of high-redshift galaxies. The star formtion history of high-redshift galaxies. The history of cosmological hydrogen reionization and low-ionization metal absorbers

Moire Prescott

mkmprescott@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Galaxy formation and evolution at z~2-3. Using Lya emission to study galaxy formation on both low and high mass scales.
Giant Lya nebulae as probes of ongoing galaxy formation and the circumgalactic medium.
Physical properties of Lya-emitting galaxies at intermediate redshifts.
Emission line diagnostics.
Lya polarization observations.
Andrew Zirm

azirm@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Massive galaxies at high redshift, High-redshift radio galaxies, Distant clusters of galaxies, Galaxy morphology
Giorgos Leloudas

giorgos@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Different kinds of cosmic explosions including thermonuclear and core-collapse supernovae, super-luminous supernovae and gamma-ray bursts.
Galaxies and the locations where these explosions occur.  Transients in the NIR galaxy survey UltraVISTA.

Bo Milvang-Jensen
milvang@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Lyman alpha emission from a large homogeneous sample of GRB host galaxies.
A number of DARK projects using the new VLT spectrograph X-shooter.
The UltraVISTA survey, searching for z=8.8 Lyman alpha emitting galaxies

Daniele Malesani
malesani@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
Gamma-ray burst afterglows: light curves and spectroscopy.
Gamma-ray burst host galaxies.
X-shooter science.

Radek Wojtak
wojtak@dark-cosmology.dk

Research interests:
kinematic constraints on dark matter density and the anisotropy profiles: galaxy clusters, galaxies, dwarf spheroidals; statistical mechanics of self-gravitating systems, phase space properties of dark matter halos, gravitational redshift in galaxy clusters; cosmic web: cosmological simulations and observations