20 February 2012

Chryssa Kouveliotou - 2012 Dannie Heineman Prize in Astrophysics

Dr. Chryssa Kouvelioutou Dr. Chryssa Kouvelioutou has been awarded the prestigious 2012 Dannie Heineman Prize in Astrophysics. A researcher at the Marshall Space Flight Center at NASA, Chryssa is recognized "...for her extensive accomplishements and discoveries in the areas of gamma ray bursts and their afterglows, soft gamma ray repeaters and magnetars."  The award committee noted, in particular, her collaborative efforts and "...effectiveness and insights in using multi-wavelength observations."  The award is given jointly each year by the American Institute of Physics and American Astronomical Society to highlight outstanding work in the field of astrophysics.

Chryssa has been one of DARK's Advisory Committee members since 2005, along with Richard Ellis (CalTech) and Anne Kinney (NASA). The committee evaluates and advises the staff on research and management issues.

Staff and students at DARK warmly congratulate Chryssa on this well-deserved honor!